Studying People Through Creative Endeavors.

My Life in Literary Quotes for the Year of 2013

I chose to represent the 2013 year in my life through the quotes of the authors who have taught me to love and therefore live better. I know I have grown closer to the people I loved before, made new fast friends, and maybe most importantly, better learned to love myself. It was not all due to books, but a great deal of it was. For the books opened my mind so that I may better hear the words of my follow people. The following are quotes from literary works which helped to give strength to my body, mend my soul, make me feel less alone in my unique mind, and love people better. I cannot say that these authors are not my friends, for friends are those who love you and make you better, but for those of you that have been there for me directly, know that I love you just as much. Your words echo for me as greatly as the praised words of the authors whose names are famous, but perhaps the job of a writer is to speak eloquently for those who cannot, the love and wisdom that you know and feel.

With that, I give you my life in quotes for the year of 2013:

“Not all those who wander are lost.” The Hobbit

“There are far better things ahead than any we leave behind.” C.S. Lewis

“The world is indeed full of peril and in it there are many dark places. But still there is much that is fair. And though in all lands, love is now mingled with grief, it still grows, perhaps, the greater.” Lord of the Rings

I am looking for someone to share in an adventure that I am arranging, and it’s very difficult to find anyone.” The Hobbit

“You,” he said, “are a terribly real thing in a terribly false world, and that, I believe, is why you are in so much pain.” The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls

“No, see, that problem is for a different one than the one I have.” Depression Part 2, Hyperbole and a Half

“Maybe everything isn’t hopeless bullshit!” Depression Part 2, Hyperbole and a Half

“I only sleep with people I love, which is why I have insomnia.” The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls

“I want you to listen to me very carefully, Harry. You are not a bad person, you’re a very good person, who bad things have happened to. Besides, the world isn’t split into good people and death eaters. We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters most is the part we chose to act on. That’s who we really are.” Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.” The Fault in Our Stars

“What a treacherous thing to believe that a person is more than a person.” Paper Towns

“But it is the nature of stars to cross, and never was Shakespeare more wrong than when he has Cassius note, ‘The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars / But in ourselves.” The Fault in Our Stars

“But ultimately I do not believe that she was only matter. The rest of her must be recycled, too. I believe now that we are greater than the sum of our parts. If you take Alaska’s genetic code and you add her life experiences and the relationships she had with people, and then you take the size and shape of her body, you do not get her. There is something else entirety. There is a part of her knowable parts. And that parts has to go somewhere, because it cannot be destroyed. Although no one will ever accuse me of being much of a science student, One thing I learned from science classes is that energy is never created and never destroyed.” Finding Alaska

“Good writin’ ain’t necessarily good readin’.” One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

“Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us.” Pride and Prejudice

“…these offences might have been overlooked, had not your pride been hurt by my honest confession of the scruples that had long prevented my forming any serious design. These bitter accusations might have been suppressed, had I with greater policy concealed my struggles, and flattered you into the belief of my being impelled by unqualified, unalloyed inclination — by reason, by reflection, by everything. But disguise of every sort is my abhorrence. Nor am I ashamed of the feelings I related. They were natural and just.” Pride and Prejudice

“I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine.” Pride and Prejudice

“I must learn to be content with being happier than I deserve.” Pride and Prejudice

“Destroying things is much easier than making them.” The Hunger Games

“What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again.” Mockingjay

“Maybe our favorite quotations say more about us than about the stories and people we’re quoting.” John Green

And of course, the quote by which I live my life and I recall every time I ask the question, “What am I holding onto?” Tolkien, you have always been there for me. You have always answered me, “There’s some good in this world…and it’s worth fighting for!”

Happy New Year!

One response

  1. Now thats one unique way of evaluating your year :)

    January 2, 2014 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers